January 08, 2008

Verizon Tech Savvy Awards - National Center for Family Literacy

Call for Nominations

The National Center for Family Literacy is now accepting nominations for the 2008 Verizon Tech Savvy Awards. They are the first national awards to honor programs that improve parents and children’s understanding and use of technology. Four $5,000 regional awards and one $25,000 national award will be presented. The deadline for submissions is Jan. 11, 2008.The annual honor will awarded March 31, 2008 in Louisville, Ky., at the National Conference on Family Literacy.The awards – established in 2007 by the Verizon Foundation, the National Center for Family Literacy and former First Lady of Iowa Christie Vilsack – are designed to support sustainable programs that help parents bridge the widening gap between adults and children’s understanding of technology. Those two generations must learn about technology together, so parents can be effective teachers and advocates to ensure that their children are literate in technology and prepared for the 21st century workforce.Programs should create innovative ways to employ technology as an important component in family literacy, and those methods should have the ability to be easily replicated at other sites across the country.Organizations that are 501(c)(3) nonprofits, such as community-based non-profits, libraries and schools, should apply.To access the 2008 Nomination Form, click here.For a map of the award regions, click here.
Verizon Tech Savvy Awards - National Center for Family Literacy

Blogged with Flock

No comments:

Post a Comment